Poets logo

The Pathway

Life

By TasmiaPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
The Pathway
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

Hey I’m almost there, walking on the pathway of glass now, hoping it won’t break

Staring at the sun-painted tulips that occasionally appear on the way

The grass was tinted lightly with golden tips of pride

I pass by the small green hills that were implanted to create the long horizon ahead of me

Then, out of nowhere…the sky turns to a death-threatening shade of black

I look around, but can’t seem to find the light that once followed me wherever I went

I held my breath,

For a second, for a moment, I swore I wouldn’t let go until It came back

And then, I ran.

I ran, I couldn’t stop running. I have to find it! I have to find it!

How am I to reach you without a light? Without the light of hope and passion? Without the light that guided me all these years?

I stopped. I stopped walking. For a second, for a moment. I swore I wouldn’t stand again.

Rain. A sudden wave of strong unforgivable rain. I can’t describe it to you the feeling. The feeling I had while I sat there, watching it all burn.

I looked around again. Looking for something, anything. And then, I saw it.

A tulip.

Even though it had rained uncontrollably, It still stood high, gleaming with its light.

I smiled, don’t worry I’m still coming, wait for me.

Free Verse
3

About the Creator

Tasmia

Do you want to be mesmorised by the rush of emotions when you read something? Do you want to feel inspired and in the moment? Are you looking for juicy plot twists and pages of increasing drama? Well, go on! The story awaits you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.