Poets logo

The Path to the Emerald City

This is a poem about the paths we take in life.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

My inspiration has run dry, like a river named denial.

I will find myself again.

I will find my way through the woods on this broken yellow brick road.

Some say there is only one path, and Dorthy should not have been lost when there was only one road to the Emerald City.

Like Dorthy, I wore someone else's shoes and then wondered why I got blisters.

The friends I mean along the way will be missing a brain and possibly a heart.

Vines grow over the road and I have to step over them carefully to avoid tripping.

The path is not always clear.

Rose bushes appear out of nowhere and I am eager to smell their sweet fragrance.

Each rose stem has its thorn, and I must be careful to not get lost in the aroma and forget where I was traveling to.

There are distractions everywhere that make me stop and waste time.

I will never make it to the city before dark or even before tomorrow night.

I will be forced to camp out and start my journey again in the morning.

Even if it takes me longer to get there, I will one day make it to the Emerald City.

It doesn't matter how long it takes me to find my happiness, as long as I am always on the path towards it.

I will meet the horse of a different color and tell him my stories of survival.

I will get to brush his long mane and feel his soft hair between my fingers.

I will never give up on myself.

I am the holder of the map.

My compass may be broken, but at least I have one.

Only I can make the choice to go right, left or stay at a stand still.

Sometimes you have to stop and smell the roses.

Sometimes you have to stop and reevaluate your direction.

It's the little things in life that make it worthwhile.

The magic is in the details around us that not everyone stops to see.

I am alone on this path.

Friends will come and go.

I will retain the life lessons that they have taught me, but I will not walk backward on this path.

I will not look back in anger at the fallen trees behind me.

I will hold my head high and I will move on.

One foot after the other my ruby slippers will follow the path of life.

Only the ruby slippers wore out long ago and I had to buy my own pair of shoes.

I am most comfortable in my own skin, and not anyone else's

I will meet many on this path we call life, but only a few will choose to stay.

Choose your friends wisely, they are a direct reflection of you.

There will be many snakes that greet me.

I need to not let them slow down my journey.

Snakes can eat poison apples, I do not need to get involved.

I do not need to warn them numerous times about the poison that they are consuming.

Snakes will choose their path in the Garden of Eden, I do not need to get lost in the wrong story.

I took the path that was less chosen, and because of this, I will see more of the world.

My path to enlightenment is different than those around me, but this will not make me stop walking it.

I will find my zen when the timing is right, and when the voices in my soul are allowed to speak freely.

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.