Poets logo

The Path

The Rough Made Smooth

By Kendall Defoe Published 6 months ago 1 min read
11
The Path
Photo by Todd Trapani on Unsplash

Godparents...

I called you Uncle B. and Auntie M.,

a deeper calling beyond ceremonies,

the promise made over a young life,

and the community I wondered if I needed.

*

In those lives,

I found a home,

a place in the rough edge of our city

(adopted and confronted).

Would I have survived without that space?

*

Some worlds

confront each other; some lives were lost.

There were other ceremonies;

there were those losses

community could not deflect.

*

I find myself

now far from that closure;

my path runs rough to the smooth

in the long trail of those days of laughter and light.

Your humour and joy in my reflection.

*

Godparents, yes...

but something greater than those roles.

You broke paths I did not know I needed,

bringing me to that greater understanding.

A path to what I can call home.

By Jackson Blackhurst on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsinspirationalfact or fiction
11

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    Kendall, what a beautiful tribute to your godparents. I love the angle you took on this piece. It’s clever and heartfelt. Best of luck in the challenge. My fingers are crossed for you. 🩵

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    This is beautiful Kendall. You perfectly and emotionally illustrated how loving and important they were to you growing up. A gorgeous tribute!

  • This was such a beautiful tribute to them! Well done!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Beautifully written! Heartbreaking and heartwarming.

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    This is simply beautiful. I truly enjoyed this. Great work.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    What a blessing , to have people who smooth the path for you 😍😍😍

  • Uplifting… what a great blessing it is to have such people enrich our days.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    great tribute, very inspirational

  • The godparents we wish everyone knew & had, especially for those formative years. Beautiful tribute, Kendall.

  • This is so beautiful, hopeful, and inspirational. Thank you Kendall for sharing what lives within your soul.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.