Poets logo

The parcel

A tale of yearning and adventure

By D-DonohoePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The parcel
Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

Monday

Do I want it? It’s a bit expensive. Yes I want it.

Express shipping? Yes, I want it tomorrow. Paid.

Shipping confirmation received.

Tuesday

Why is it still in the warehouse? Must be getting delivered straight from there.

I’ll check at lunchtime.

Label printed, but it’s still in the warehouse. Why?

Better be here tomorrow.

Wednesday

It’s been picked up! Ok I’ll make sure the Ring camera is working.

Should be there when I get home.

“Someone’s at your front door”

The meter reader? Really?

No notifications of delivery.

Thursday

Why does it say it’s in Amarillo, Texas when I’m in San Diego.

I won’t be seeing it today.

Friday

At least it’s going the right direction. Today should be the day.

EXCEPTION NOTIFICATION!

What the fuck? What information do you need from the sender?

Saturday

In Transit with destination carrier. That’s got to be good right?

But they don’t do deliveries after 2pm. It’s already 1:30pm. Maybe Monday?

Monday

Out for Delivery

There it is. On the doorstep. No rain today.

Get home now.

That feeling of excitement as I open it.

What the fuck? That’s not what I ordered.

Return label, sending it back.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

D-Donohoe

Amateur storyteller, LEGO fanatic, leader, ex-Detective and human. All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little risqué all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.