Poets logo

The Pain I Felt the Day we M.0et

An ode to the birth of my son. My valentine this year and the years to come.

By Nneka AniezePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The pain I felt the day we met

A breath-taking Friday dawned.

I knew it would great be but my fear yet abound

Cold with joy, my bravery all but gone

A paper, some pants in, packing are done

Off to the middle of the city

Where the workers are pretty,

The pandemic booming

With my knight with nervous amour ajittery.

Pain and aches upon my body insist.

Savannah, a strange lady with a stranger name,

With kind words of upliftment, my fear to tame.

But they are greedy and seek to rise above my joy in fame

Into perseverance embrace, I went, with hopes my heart to calm

Inhuman needles held by mask men with gloved hands

Hands that doth disperse mighty chills down my bare spine

My naked poor behind do shiver, cold with dread

As the sharp object approached to piercing my tender black skin

“Be calm,” he said. A pinch is all you feel.

Well, a lie was what he told.

A pinch indeed, then a stab, then a throb

Before the nothing feeling came and stayed.

Slowly and careful like a giant golden egg,

I lay on the cold black surface and stared at the white light.

The stuffs of Grey’s anatomy

My limbs began to die. A second I could move my legs

The next, I felt my torso gone, my feet and ass with it

A sensation of flight or fight awash me

So I wished on god to give me strength

Ever so slightly, one toe to wiggle

The dancing began at this time as the curtain fell.

My only anchor held me down and spoke me words of calm

But my heart won’t seize the dance of die or fight today.

Panic, that was our first encounter. I know him well by now

A great yank there, a few words there, the doctor tries a joke

A try to calm my fevered mind.

At last, the final yank he warned about.

More a pull than yank and a great weight from depart.

A great chunk is removed from my middle.

Oh, such hollowness.

A hastily wrapped bundle is rushed off to the side in a hurry

A collective breath is held and a great elephant takes a seat on my chest.

Away from me for the first time in forever.

The panic is dressed for church and back in folds.

"Show me him now," is the demand I made.

I stare into the assembly of nursing hovering over a tiny bundle.

I held my breath and prayed to die if you refused to live

Until I heard your cry to the side, on cue, the tears arrived.

As numb as could be but too alive at once

I stretched my hands and blink again to clear the tears aflow.

Then your eyes did meet my eyes and sure my heart was dashed

So come with me my heart of heart, the son my heart doth needs,

My greatness love, my god on earth,

The boy I was born to born.

I will do my best, you will do your best and together we this life live.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Nneka Anieze

Hello there,

Nice to meet you. My name is Nneka, mom of one living in Windsor, Ontario. I enjoy reading a lot and have decided to try my hand at writing. Hoping to better my skills and perfect my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.