Poets logo

The Oxford English Dictionary

A #BookReviewHaiku of the classic book collection

By Kendall Defoe Published 10 months ago 1 min read
13
The Oxford English Dictionary
Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

Volumes admired;

Made portable; made over...

A Scrabble tempter!

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

humorsocial commentaryinspirationalfact or fictionbook reviews
13

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Oh I love Scrabble and your Haiku-review!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    I love this one, Lamar! I love playing Scrabble and I do love my old dictionary! So clever this haiku!

  • Containing volumes in only 17 syllables!

  • GANEWA 10 months ago

    Pretty cool, keep it up 👍

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    This is cool. From the title in notifications, I thought it would be an Ode to the ordinary.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Haha! As an avid Scrabble player, I salute you!

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Love haikus

  • Sid Aaron Hirji10 months ago

    Clever this one

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I LOVE words!!! You know what word I learned today, Languor, means sluggish. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.