Poets logo

The Owliest

None Owlier

By The Dani WriterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
The Owliest
Photo by Philip Brown on Unsplash

They think me old and feeble

Incapacitated by moonless night

I’ve sired many over seasons

Weakened fledglings, hidden reasons

Sacred knowledge sealed in flight

***

I fear nothing, at one with darkness

Silence gliding and specter-like

Primal instincts fuel my cunning

No escape, more noise with running

Weapons sharpened for every strike

***

Few countries escape my presence

The breadth of my domain is vast

And the hunter is efficient

Fate, the hunted, not omniscient

Life meets death from talons cast

***

I care not for fame of eagles

Lore and legend stay my name

Only need my mate beside me

Favored wind and wing to guide me

Power cloaked by patience came

***

Honor and marvel from a distance

On tree I perch as branches shroud

Preen my feathers, sharpened features

Whose wisdom far exceeds all creatures

Here secrets kept are secrets vowed

By Claud Richmond on Unsplash

A heartfelt thank you for taking the time to read my poem. It is so very appreciated! You are more than welcome to read more of my work here.

If you would like to demonstrate support of me or any of the Vocal Creators, please like and share our work. It encourages us to keep doing what we love doing.

I welcome your questions, comments, and feedback @thedaniwriter



nature poetry
3

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.