Poets logo

The Other Side

The inner workings of mental illness

By Kyli SettlesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Other Side

A blank stare,

A blank stare into the cold face of death,

Nothing feels real,

Nothing is real,

I'm made of plastic and filth,

Not sure if I can feel,

Or if I'm numb,

Deaf, blind, and dumb,

I'm lost,

Floating in space,

Away from all that holds me here,

My body is dead,

My brain is melted,

As if I'm a lab rat,

Used for experiments,

I can't breathe,

Heart won't stop racing,

I don't feel real,

I'm a stranger in my own body,

I'm looking through someone else's eyes,

These are not mine,

My thoughts are full of daggers,

Waiting to plunge into my heart,

Lead me away from earth,

I see you there,

But you aren't real,

I hear your voice,

Taunting me,

But it's not real,

You whisper sweet nothings to me,

Sweet nothings of death,

You make it so appealing,

But I can't give in,

I have to be here for them,

So I bleed,

To simply try to feel real again,

I'm sure that's not healthy,

But sometimes it kind of works,

I'll feel the sting,

The trickle of red,

It would be so easy to go deeper,

Feel my body drain,

No, I don't want to die,

I'm petrified of death,

But you don't hear the demons,

Screaming in my ears,

Grabbing a hold of my head,

Forcing me to stare into their fire filled eyes,

The cover my nose and mouth,

So I suffocate in their sulfur,

But they only reveal themselves,

To me,

Instead you see the smile,

Hear my laugh,

You see the mask,

You are blind to the bruises,

The cuts in my skin,

I don't want to die,

But you can't feel my pain,

The intense, agonizing pain,

The type of pain that sends you into shock,

Then you become numb,

As if you lost a limb,

Were shot by a gun,

Left to bleed out,

On the cold ground,

You see what I choose for you to see,

And every so often,

I just can't hide it anymore,

The mask slips for a moment,

And you see me break,

If only you knew,

That that's my day to day....

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.