Poets logo

The Original Nightmare

The Tale of Terror at Age Six

By LanaPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Photo of bolts of lightning illuminating the sky above a residential home. Photo by Nikolett Emmert

The original nightmare

A frightful tale I once endeavored

On a dark and stormy night

A dream that would stick with me forever

The wind whipped tree branches

A creak and a snap

Bolts of lightning flashed bright

Tore the sky with a booming crack

My family and I returned from an outing

When my body suddenly froze with fear

The entrance to my home was not quite right

And I was scared to go near

"Komm mal, gehen wir rein"

My mother beckoned me on

But in the dimness of the night

I knew something was wrong

Obediently, I climbed the stairs

With shaking legs, each weighing a ton

An endless journey up the first flight

When all I wanted to do was to run

As the front door creaked open

A giant red cyclops stepped out

Smiling coyly down from his great height

Yet, still, only I felt any doubt

My family, still oblivious

Followed cyclops inside

While glancing back at pale moonlight

I wished for someplace to hide

Following close behind my parents

I saw the familiar hallway, marble stairs

But the shadows from a dim, distant light

Brought on goosebumps and raised hairs

With just the blink of an eye

They were suddenly all gone

So, with a breath, I gathered my might

With a pounding heart, I proceeded on

A few steps brought me to the kitchen

A glimmer of hope made me peer in

Though instantly, my fear was proven right

As I beheld a scene worse than sin

In a cauldron stirred by a skeleton

My mother's head was churned round and round

Her grinning face staring, stiff and bright

I let out a scream and fell to the ground

Between tears, I called for my dad

I ran through the house, blind with fear

Down the hall, round the corner, to the right

There, my one-eyed father and cyclops drinking beer

My young heart never pounded so quickly

And I awoke with a trip and a fall

Back in bed, with the familiar glow of my nightlight

I was again safe from the first nightmare I'd ever recall

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Lana

Professional freelance writer and aspiring poet. I love adventures, the outdoors, and my pets, and I am always looking for new ways to learn and grow in life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LanaWritten by Lana

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.