Poets logo

The Open

By Jamie Ramsay

By Jamie RamsayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

“I can hear it in your voice, “

I won’t say, “it’s because it’s early, the coffee is cold, my throat is still raw.”

Today my skin feels cold, like dew on grass, my soul underneath, insignificant.

Underneath the clouds, in the bare open yard, boxes in my hands, boxes on paper being checked off, slowly.

My friend sits on a chair as the sun peaks out, and strums something on the guitar that sounds eerie, undecided, like an unfinished thought. He plays it softly like a whisper, like the strings are telling a story.

I want to sit in this moment of time forever.

Last night I looked up at the stars, the ones that belong above a forest, outside of a trailer, away from the city.

I haven’t heard silence like this in a very long time.

The methodical thrum of the strings has put me in a trance. I hear wind chimes, they sound like the echo of mockingjays.

surreal poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalart
Like

About the Creator

Jamie Ramsay

Every word is chosen from my throat, in the moments I feel too human.

I am your guide into the sinkhole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.