Poets logo

The One Who Shared My Pain

A recurring dream that actually happened

By Morgan Rhianna BlandPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The One Who Shared My Pain
Photo by Sean Stratton on Unsplash

Once upon a vivid dream

On a humid summer night

Swallowed by a crowded room

In a haze of blinding light

Face to face with my mentor,

My protector and second father.

The only person to see me

As more than a burden and bother

Finally with trembling voice

And throat too tight to swallow

Terrified of wrong things said

Or the social rules not followed.

I told him of my wretched life,

shattered dreams and wasted years

He looked at me with sympathy,

His face awash with tears

Awaking, I dismissed the dream

As a fool’s childish fantasy

Why should he waste his time and tears

On a wayward soul like me

Then after many months,

Another dream, another night,

The same crowded room

And the same twinkling lights

At a table sat my mentor

Though his hair and outfit changed,

Jade-green eyes looked at me with kindness.

Their familiar comfort still remained

As I shared my sad story,

A life spent lonely and despised,

He held my hand and looked at me,

Tears welling in his eyes

They say if you dream more than once

That thing’s certain to come true

I’m not one to believe in fairytales

But at that moment I knew

That dream was one I can’t ignore

So I took it as a sign

Of what was to come someday

When our paths again intertwine

That dream can’t end in nothing

So I made it my goal

To work my way back to him,

Though it would take my health as toll

A year frittered away to nothing

And as the day of reunion neared

My mind was full of second thoughts,

Vain “what ifs” and empty fears

What if the dream doesn’t come to pass

What if it was all a mistake?

What if he’s not who I thought he was

And would I survive the heartbreak?

What if he doesn’t care at all

And turns a deaf ear to my plight?

Those questions answered through a dream

Of that same room with twinkling lights

Surrounded by friends at a table

Illuminated by candle glow,

He made his way to me,

Kissing my hand as he said hello

The conversation turned to my illness,

The companionship and normalcy it robbed,

And as I weaved my woeful tale,

He held me close and sobbed

Standing in a crowded room,

Lost in twinkling lights

I felt a sense of deja vu,

For this time it was real life

Met with a pair of familiar eyes

green as the background Christmas wreaths

That one look killed my shyness

And put my fears at ease

As we talked of how we got there

When he learned all I’d sacrificed

He took my hand in both of his,

And I saw the tears in his eyes

In those eyes that looked upon me

Without revulsion or disdain,

My every hardship to that point worthwhile

To find the one who shared my pain

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Rhianna Bland

I'm an aroace brain AVM survivor from Tennessee. My illness left me unable to live a normal life with a normal job, so I write stories to earn money.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Morgan Rhianna Bland is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.