Poets logo

The One Who Changed My Life

the day I forget about this cat is the day that the world has officially ended (hobbes)

By MelPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Dear Hobbes,

I can still see it.

You.

The deep golden red colored stripes printed on your head;

just perfect enough for me to boop.

The ginger-colored fur that always felt like silk

every single time I'd touch it.

You.

My Prince Charming with the pointy little ears and purring throat.

God, Hobbes.

You were seriously the one who changed my life

for the better.

Without you,

I don't know how I ever was able to overcome any of it.

Life.

You were there for it all;

the happiness,

the traumatic experiences,

the tragedies.

You were there for me,

Hobbes.

Pretty weird to say...

considering you had four legs and a pink button nose...

but you were the one I counted on.

You were the one I felt safe enough to confide in,

Hobbes.

Losing you,

the way I lost you,

was the most heartbreaking moment I thought I'd ever have to experience.

Having you taken from me,

so swiftly,

without getting the chance to wish my final goodbyes;

that stung.

Finding you once again,

only to find out how it had already been too late;

that was the part that broke me the most.

Never,

did I expect to see you again.

I tried.

Oh boy, Hobbes,

did I try.

In so many forms,

I wanted to see you again.

Never,

in a million years,

did I ever expect to realize that patience was the solution.

Hobbes,

never would I have ever expected,

that in just ten years after your departure,

would I find you again.

Or,

at least your next being.

God, Hobbes,

if only you could meet him;

you'd be so proud.

He's doing for me,

what you've done all those years past.

Oh, Hobbes,

he's exactly who you once were.

Thank you.

Thank you for realizing,

Hobbes,

this was the perfect time for you to call back down to me.

And Hobbes,

he's perfect...

but he'll never be you.

Hugs and Kisses,

M.

Hobbes.

Always guiding, even when you've been long gone.

Hobbes 2.0 (Prince Harry-Quinn)

social commentaryslam poetryperformance poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.