Poets logo

The Ocean

By Zeline Farney

By Zeline FarneyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Ocean

By Zeline Farney

The water surges over

And for a moment

I lose sight

and believe I’m finally one (with the river)

I can not tell you

The agony you must endure

Before finding open water

Only that the stones and boulders

That promise to be islands of hope

Are deceptive obstructions

The life

In my

Lungs

Has been

Replaced

With u b e

desperate b b l s

My

e x t r e m I t I e s

Are

Heavy and numb

This is where you decide

”can I still float?”

Battered, bruised, bleeding,

Choking on their watery ambiguousness

Theres miles of river before the ocean

So much that cuts

So much that strangles and tangles

But I kick

You people stand on shore and don’t

Believe

You think I’m drowning.

Say your prayers and wonder

“was she tempted by the raging rapid?”

“Did she stumble to closely?”

Enflamed by your small minds, I want you to know

I dove

We will reach the ocean.

inspirationalnature poetryperformance poetrysad poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Zeline Farney

I love poetry and the way words sound. I am a fiction lover. I love adventures and fairytales and things that could never be real. I love daydreaming. I tell silly tales to my children and recently decided to create a book for them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.