Poets logo

The Ocean in Me

Excerpt from "Simply Poetic"

By Alexis LarivierePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Standing on the shoreline

Waiting for the waves to break

The wind howls

She knows,

The true meaning behind the beating of my broken heart

I’ve stolen away

From the reprieve of his love

The white froth swirls around my ankles,

Begging me to join

The sound of the waves pounding against solid rock tears through my soul

Ripping through my mind as every word and every silence pulls through me like the riptide that beckons me now

I can taste the salt on my lips

Blissful.

Welcoming.

What a match we make,

The ocean and me.

She beckons me further

With a promise of forever peace

The promise of understanding.

The knowledge of pain, power, and loss.

She reeks of danger and passion

The ocean in me

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Lariviere

Hello creative friends! I've been a creative mind my whole life. I call myself an accidental writer. I hope you enjoy the collection of literary works you will find on my page. Mahalo for stopping by!

-Lex

Instagram: _inkedmermaid_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.