Poets logo

The Ocean Hearted Daughter

The sea once called out to me.

By Rose MayPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

It is a bright and warm sunning day,

A cerulean sky instead of the usual grey,

When I decide to come down to the beach to play,

Among the shimmering water.

-

To come here is to break a promise,

But the briny deep never ceases to astonish,

So I've venture here to my adonis,

And ignore the warnings of my mother.

-

I don't know why she would ask it of me,

To keep myself away from the rolling sea,

Doesn't she know its the only place I'm free,

That to be here I'll always fight her.

-

So among the waves I joyfully slip,

For what was only meant to be a short trip,

Yet poseidon tightens his iron grip,

And then he pulls me under.

-

I start to panic as I lose my breath,

As I'm able to see less and less,

I feel myself sinking towards my death,

I'm not ready to meet my creator.

-

As I am swallowed and absorbed,

I think of all the warnings I ignored,

Of the mother I so adored,

Won't you tell her that I love her.

-

The ocean once called out to me,

now I rest here under the sea,

I who shall never truly be free,

The ocean hearted daughter.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rose May

Just wanted to share some words with you.

Please please leave feedback if you want to! I would really appreciate anything, thank you for reading :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.