Poets logo

The Nightmare

Poem

By Muhammad SherazPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Nightmare
Photo by Olesya Yemets on Unsplash

The sky is dark and approaching dawn

With no stars, as the sky is to pour down.

I sit there sweaty and scared

With fright that can’t be shared

I look around, the room is calm

And my little baby sleeps with all the charm.

I pulled the blanket from her face,

Kissed her and rushed in a quick pace.

Walking across the room I reached the window

The calm night for me was a weeping widow.

As I stood there I thought of the nightmare,

Was it true or just a dream?

As any other day I woke up early in the morning,

But the bed was stiff and there were no birds calling.

The place was different, yet it felt like home

I turned and saw my loved ones sleep; oh that was just the norm.

An hour passed by, I closed the door as they left,

It was then that I heard the sudden blow.

I stood there not knowing what to do,

There were people down the road, not knowing where to go.

I knew instantly what was happening,

I ran outside not knowing where I am going.

I heard my neighbor murmur ‘the school’.

I look up and saw the smoke rising from the north.

I didn’t know which place was blown

But my world came shattering down.

I run towards the smoke with many others,

I saw many I recognize, as many other mothers.

My mind registers nothing, the shouts or cries or what they say,

My legs were aching, the half done tar piercing all the way.

I don’t know how much time had passed,

But over there people in brown had the doors latched.

I ran into the crowd and hit a fireman, who asked me to slow,

Between the people reaching in I saw my husband’s shadow.

My legs were betraying me, and I was pushed to the side,

Something hurt my leg and I looked down.

The mirror on the front of the school lay broken,

And then I saw myself and stood there frozen.

I sat on the couch and thought of that I saw minutes ago,

Oh dear, it was just a dream and had to let it go.

I look up and lock my eyes with the women in the mirror, me?

But that face, she looks like me, how can that be?

I start shivering and there are tears in my eyes,

This was true unlike many other lies.

Somewhere around the world she lives,

And now, she’s living the day I just saw, across the seas.

I went to bed trying to forget and to be at peace,

But sleep was miles away and didn’t touch my eyes.

Hours went by, and I did all my chores in a daze.

I heard the doorbell ring; the newspaper boy was on his usual race.

I heard my husband swear as he read out the news,

There was another school bombing in Palestine.

The bowl in my hand went crashing down.

My knees gave away and I fell.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.