Poets logo

The Night I Fell In Love

Dark as Night

By Trina GarnerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

One year ago I fell in love With a lover so fine So refined, so cool and Oh so smooth I couldn’t help but to give him the best of me

His game is so tight His rap is just right He knows how to arouse my mind To stir my spirit To gauge my sound as my heart begins to pound With the rhythm of his boundless sound

Oh his game is so tight His rap is just right He stands tall as the skies, and dark as the night But he’s surrounded by a glow so beautiful It's like a spirit show

So soulful, so new and yet so old As ancient as time He’s like a negro spiritual Leading me to a place where I can be free To face the truth way down deep inside of me

The truths I had to try to swallow With the over consumption of foods That were no good for me He led me to the freedom that my Father promised A freedom my forefathers fought for and desired The same truths some perceive as a pipe dream When I fell in love, became my reality

And oh, he treats me so nice His game’s so tight and his rap is just right His name ... it’s really no mystery When I tell you, I’m sure you’ll agree with me He is . . .

His name is Poetry

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Trina Garner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.