Poets logo

The NICU That Was My Home

Saint Lukes, A hospital To You, Home To Me

By Amanda J MollettPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
The NICU That Was My Home
Photo by Hush Naidoo Jade Photography on Unsplash

There was a hospital room

That was where I liked to be

It may be a hospital to you,

But it is home to me

The room where she lied

Had machines breathing for her

Telling us if she lived or died

It may be a hospital to you,

But it is home to me

The chair where I slept

Is the same chair where I wept

Now sure if I could yet breathe

On the day of her surgery, I could barely sleep

It may be a hospital to you,

But it is home to me

The place I hated to be

With the nurses, I hated to see

The days I hated to spend there

The nights I hated to leave

It may be a hospital to you,

But it is home to me

The day I took her home with me

The hospital was just that

No longer home to her, or me

My home was now her

And when we left I was happy

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.