Poets logo

Burn Down Your House

My Husband And I Joke About Never Divorcing, Only Death Will Part Us

By Amanda J MollettPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Burn Down Your House
Photo by Dave Hoefler on Unsplash

From the day we wed

I told you

I would love you till I was dead

If you should leave me

I told you before

I will hit you in the head with a 2x4

I told you once

What I would do

If you ever thought

About being gone

You would not

Think about it for long

A body bag is the only way

You get out

Trust me, you are stuck

This is what your life is about

With out me, you would die

Do not say one word

Wait... was that a sigh?

I told you if you left

You would have no stuff

You would have to catch your things

From the fire,

Hope you are tough

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.