Poets logo

The Name Behind The Meaning

It's Just Who I Am

By Chrissy BarnhillPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
5

Although I may not be gay

In the sense that I am not straight

And my name may be that of the traditional boys name

I am still prideful

In my upbringing

To love one another as you love yourself

Under the colors of the rainbow.

Pink, blue, purple or red

Whatever scars you've shed;

We are all equal

Under the same hand that gave us life.

If you need a mother, I am here;

If you need a sister, I am here.

If you need a shoulder to lean on or a boulder removed

I will listen to and I will comfort you

Without judgment or fear of being shewn-

Away. Take pride in yourself and one another

For I was given a plan

To love and accept

My others and my brothers;

My sisters and my many "blunders" I call my friends.

Let your flags be flown high;

Let your heart shine bright;

Fill the night sky

With the stars of the then and now;

For we are all one big family

Under a giant canopy

Of beauty and dignity all around.

And on this pride month

In this prideful year

Stand up to your challenges;

Face your real fears;

Don't let the pressure of your peers

Disregard your strategies

Of being your true self.

Be at peace within your destiny

Be one with the nature of your heart;

Love one another as we all should

Right from the start.

For you are beautiful;

You are perfect;

You are loved

You are worth it.

And when we march

To the beatings of our own drums

Inside of our own heads,

Or out in the streets of sand

Listen to the hummings of the birds.

They tell of your stories;

They share the histories

And the mysteries

Of how true love came to pass;

Acceptance, my friends, is where it's all at.

Love is trending

Love is what is in;

So, again,

My dear friends

Be not ashamed of who you are;

Just make the trend

A permanent placement

Through your scars;

A permanent solution

Although life may be sometimes hard;

I will still love you

Even if from afar.

CB 05/05/2021

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Chrissy Barnhill

Of In @ com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Chrissy Barnhill (Author)2 years ago

    For one of my best friends Hunter Dane Johnson who died from Covid last year. This is the first year we won't be marching for pride month. Hunter I love you so much and I miss you more than words.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.