Poets logo

The Mouth

That Can't Say Yes

By Paige GraffunderPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Ina Garbé on Unsplash

I always want to believe you,

I always want to hope,

But I always want to hear a yes,

And all you say is "nope."

And then you make it awkward,

Barely speaking as you leave,

Like I'm some spoiled child,

Always tugging at your sleeve.

You'd think I'd just give up

That by now I would've learned.

But I've always been a fan of fire,

And all too eager to get burned.

So we go round this carousel,

Like we don't know how it will end.

Except we both know the truth,

We just like to play pretend.

Except it's always me

Who gets to feel the sting

I'm always sitting around

Waiting for you to ring.

And after all this time I'm tired,

And I know this much is true.

This time it really isn't me,

Baby, it's all you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Paige Graffunder

Paige is a published author and a cannabis industry professional in Seattle. She is also a contributor to several local publications around the city, focused on interpersonal interactions, poetry, and social commentary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.