Poets logo

THE MOSAIC OF LIFE

MAKING ORDER OUT OF CHAOS

By Rebecca SharrockPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

For many, many years I did not know,

The clutter I’d sense and why that was so,

There was something about me that seemed very wrong,

As my senses and flashbacks were just so strong,

Every life experience was attached to a colour and taste,

And this was for literally everything I faced,

Life was a mess, I must confess,

Chaos and disorder caused much distress,

By day I would sense and retain such disorderly sights,

Which is a perfect remedy for sleepless nights,

In the dark and silence my brain would scream,

To prevent myself from ever sleeping that would seem,

Colours of sights and tastes of sound,

All of this would spin around and around,

Whether I did fall asleep or my restless thoughts managed to win,

When 6am came my day would begin,

All of this happened through to the time I was grown,

And until my early twenties the reason was unknown,

Advice from many didn’t make sense,

And “There’s just something very wrong about me” was my only defence,

Yet a time finally came when I felt less shame,

For what I was experiencing did have a name,

Synaesthesia is a condition where one’s senses unite,

Where we can taste each sound or attach colours to sight,

This can affect each individual in multiple ways,

And for myself it means that every experience stays,

Many may ask the reason for why,

Though it’s our senses that connect us to life passing by,

Colours and tastes threaten to destroy my brain,

And it’s my senses of experiences that make them remain,

For some memories I smile and for others I cry,

Yet I can not erase them no matter how hard I try,

Though I wouldn’t say that there could not be worse,

As with positive effort it is not a curse,

I could choose a life full of chaos and distress,

But I wish for these colours to not be a mess,

Random colours and senses will forever fall,

Yet I can use my creativity to make heaven from them all,

Life is full of every colour of light,

And once we organise them all they make a scene of delight,

There are so many things that the mind can do,

In order to create pleasure personally for you,

Artwork can be done on a canvas of any kind,

Including that of our very own mind,

Thus with every imagined colour I perceive,

I have a very handy trick now up my sleeve,

Rather than allowing each colour to stay where they randomly lie,

I instead create a mosaic that is pleasing to my eye,

This action may seem strange to read,

But ironically it’s just the very thing that I need,

By transforming random colours into pictures I adore,

I don’t have difficulties with falling asleep anymore,

When I imagine things which make me beam,

I easily fall into a blissful dream.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Sharrock

I'm an autistic person who is making a career from writing, public speaking and advocacy work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.