Poets logo

The Morning Paper Route

The Daily Struggle of a Sleepy Paperboy

By The PenPalPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
2

Oh, the morning paper route, a daunting task indeed,

For a sleepy young lad with a love for sleep, oh how he'd plead!

With the alarm clock blaring, it's time to rise and shine,

But oh, the struggle to get up at this ungodly hour is simply not so fine.

The Unruly Wake-Up Call

The alarm clock's ringing, it's time to rise,

But oh, the snooze button, it's my greatest prize!

Five more minutes, I plea and beg,

But the time keeps ticking, it's an uphill leg.

The Battle of the Bed

Up from the warm and cozy bed,

I stumble and fumble, with a dizzy head.

The sheets and blankets, they cling so tight,

Oh, the struggle to break free from their morning bite!

The Morning Ritual

With heavy eyelids and a groggy mind,

I stumble to the bathroom, oh what a find!

Toothpaste on my brush, but where's my aim?

Oh, the mirror's a witness to this sleepy game.

The Breakfast Conundrum

A bowl of cereal, a glass of juice,

But oh, the milk carton, it's on the loose!

Spilled on the table, a morning mess,

I sigh and chuckle, in my sleepy distress.

The Quest for Proper Attire

Mismatched socks and inside-out shirt,

In my sleepy daze, I'm a sight quite absurd.

The shoes, oh where did I put them last night?

Under the couch, oh what a sight!

The Morning Paper Gathering

With bag in hand and papers piled high,

I venture out beneath the waking sky.

But oh, the struggle to stay awake and alert,

As I navigate the streets, in a half-asleep spurt.

The Delivery Dilemma

Houses to the left, apartments to the right,

But oh, the addresses, they blur in my sight!

Mixing up numbers, and tossing papers amiss,

I laugh at my errors, in the morning's bliss.

The Return to Bed

The final paper delivered, the end is in sight,

But oh, the fatigue, it's a formidable fight!

Back home I stumble, to my cozy bed I race,

And as I finally rest, I dream of morning's comical embrace.

So here ends the tale of the sleepy paperboy's plight,

A humorous struggle in the early morning light.

But amidst the chaos and the morning's sleepy haze,

He finds joy and laughter in these comical dazed days.

humor
2

About the Creator

The PenPal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.