Poets logo

The Morning Light

A Poem

By Eli Glen Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Morning Light
Photo by Dawid Zawiła on Unsplash

When the scars of night meet the morning rays

And the blood on your hands can’t be cleaned,

When you have hurt others in too many ways

And guilt has been continually glean’d,

Return to me, my morning light.

When the demons have made your head a home

And your own home has become a prison,

When their words and your fears become a dome

And its veil pushes a dark decision,

Return to me, my morning light.

Who am I, you ask- where can I be found?

How can you find what seems small and distant?

You ask me where I am- I say turn around;

My essence is with you every instant.

I am the memories you hold so dear,

And the people with whom you create them.

I am the product of your pain and fear,

Because I could not exist without them.

I am your will to fight, your greatest joy,

The desire you have to love and be loved.

I am the smile of a love so coy,

That masks the wounds by the unreproved.

Never forget this of your morning light-

I cannot be seen without the night.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Eli Glen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.