Poets logo

The Monster That Lives Under My Bed

R.M. Stockton’s "Monster Under My Bed Challenge"

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Created by the author in Midjourney

I lie awake and listen to the silent room

Not be silent anymore

It has awakened - I am frozen - too scared to even whimper - facing certain doom

My parents, deep asleep, next door – softly snore

Claws scratching, belly slithering, its scales rasp against the underside of my bed, my pink teddy bear coverlet trails over its head

Reptilian nostrils wide open, tuned to my scent, out comes its long, ugly, scarred, warty, snout

Breath rank with muddy swamp and a fishy whiff of putrid rotten meat – it feeds on my dread

A cold blooded killer, hungry for flesh, with savage yellow eyes. All I can think is “It is coming to eat me! It is coming to eat me, to swallow me whole! There is no way out!”

Huge jaws open, rows of sharp yellow teeth, glisten in the dim moonlight, a foul gray tongue tastes the air

Convulsed in horror – I do an Olympic metal worthy, jump for the light switch - toes not really, touching the floor.

Bright light floods the room – vanquishing the shadows, of what is not really there.

The monster is gone, so terrifyingly real just a moment before!

I stand in my onesie, perplexed – “where did it go?” To be safe, I switch on every lamp. Cradling my flashlight, I leave it on low

Just in case, it might, decide to slime its way back, and go bump in the night

For Funmonster
3

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧3 months ago

    This is written with the excitement and innocence of a child. Beautiful poem! Your descriptions were so vivid! This is perfectly executed. WELL DONE!

  • Awww, but that croc looks like he just wants to cuddle hehehehe. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.