Poets logo

The Monster in Me

A Poem

By WilliamNotShakesperePublished 3 years ago 1 min read

How did we come to drift so far

So far apart we forgot who we are

And who we were and who we've been

We forgot ourselves our greatest sin

Now it says if we were but strangers

Who have never held the others heart

This is gut wrenching tears me apart

I feel that we are both consumed by anger

By failures past, present, and those to be

This is no way to live the life that's been given

You are so turned against me, this I see

Half the time you talk it's me your dissing

Am I all that bad to have ruined your life so

Have I stolen all of your dreams, dashed your every hope

I am the monsters you were told when young

That would hide under your bed waiting to snatch you

Am I the evil that has usurped your will

What do you see when you look at me anymore

Look at me with love, or is it disdain

like my very presence is an insult to your pride

Have I earned this hatred from you

How did I lose the love of my life

I'm sure that there are reasons I can count a few

I would never treat you this way

Like my life had no worth to you

That I was an obstacle to overcome

I would never purposely make you feel like you weren't good enough

But you do that to me everyday

and within pretty much everything that I do

Is this what we've become

Bickering at one another

Over things that will not matter in the years to come

I wish you could see past this moment

Past the emotions that control us so

And see how frivolous they truly are

To take time to see what you are doing to the other

This is legitimately killing me

I feel more lifeless everyday

Kind of like a monster

heartbreak

About the Creator

WilliamNotShakespere

I am an up and coming writer and i have been grinding my whole life to get my work to the masses. I have always had a story to tell and i mean to tell it whether in poetic form or not it must be told.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    WilliamNotShakespereWritten by WilliamNotShakespere

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.