Poets logo

The Monster I Live With...

This is a poem that I tell myself.

By Jahdirah WilkinsonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

there is literally nothing you can say that’ll shatter me into a thousand pieces

because you are no worse than the monster I live with....

you can call me ugly

you can call me fat

but you won’t see me break in half

because you are no worse than the monster I live with

you can push me down the stairs

you can go ahead and pull my hair

but you’ll be wasting your time since I won’t care

because you are no worse than the monster I live with

you can isolate me

you can break me

but it won’t faze me

because you are no worse than the monster I live with

feel free to write my name with lies

go ahead and tell me to “just die”

just don’t expect me to cry

because you are no worse than the monster I live with

there is literally nothing you can say that’ll shatter me into a thousand pieces

I say this because this monster, in particular, is far worse than any sick human being that has lived and died

this monster, in particular, is one that hides in the night

this monster, in particular, is just as scary as the Boogeyman

this monster, in particular, is just as cunning as the Devil

this monster, in particular, is one that I’m far too familiar with

I would know because it is the monster that lives inside me

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.