Poets logo

The Mischievous Bakery Pixie

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished about a month ago 2 min read
2
The Mischievous Bakery Pixie
Photo by Jennifer Burk on Unsplash

It was still early in the morning when I was heading back from the library. Walk through the chilly streets caused me to shiver and tighten my woolen scarf.

I stopped my journey back home when an appetizing aroma wafted through my nose.

My stomach gave a hungry growl, looking around for the source. I found it coming from the bakery across from me.

They must be making preparation to open for the day ahead. Making a detour, I felt like a character in Tom & Jerry who was lifted by the scent and carried to the food.

Anyways, opening the door I was about to ask permission to come before the opening hours but found no one.

So I sat in the cozy corner waiting. Few minutes passed by when I heard scraping of a wooden stool against the marble floor.

Soon a head appeared wearing a pixie night-cap. It was the owners 4 year old daughter who was now standing on the stool with a rolling pin in one hand and bunch of cookie cutters in other.

She didn't notice me sitting and I was too curious to bring attention to myself.

With chubby hands she rolled; I am assuming it is a cookie dough that she is rolling.

It was such a cute action, she was humming a tune while rolling with a little dance in her tiny body.

Some flour smudged her nose but she barely noticed and continued on. With every movement the bell attached at the point end of the night-cap jingled, reminding me of the naughty pixies from the show I used to watch named 'Noddy'.

Her chubby baby hand had difficulty in grasping the cookie cutter but she still went ahead with the task.

Just in time, I saw her father sneaking behind her and lift her up causing her to burst in peals of laughter.

It was such an adorable father-daughter bonding moment.

From his expression I can tell that little mischievous pixie had sneaked out of bed to cause mayhem.

Approaching them I greeted him before turning to the tiny pixie and flicked her nose, watching her pout adorably.

Retelling him the mischievous act his daughter was upto I asked for the marvellous creation she created.

His eyes were shinning with amusement as he listened to my tale while putting his daughter's creation in the oven.

Soon I was back on my journey with a box of fun shaped coconut cookies.

Later when I put them on the table after breakfast. I watched my family indulge in it without knowing the back story.

What do you think?

humorFor Fun
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    So many delightful ingredients in this story....the cute little girl, the adoring father, the nostalgia of Tom & Jerry, cookies, and sharing!!! Love the picture, too.

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Even though she is mischievous, the story is humorous. I felt like a read a piece of short story from a book!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.