Poets logo

The Mirror Divine

A Dr. Suess Rhythm for a Human Lesson

By Dannielle NelsonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2

Goodness me, look at the time.

Where have I been?

wandering sublime.

What was I doing?

I do not recall.

I got lost in my mind,

where there's no time at all.

I got wistful and wanton,

where unicorns wander.

I raced uptown and downtown,

hither and yonder.

I spent all of my days,

so lost in my head.

I woke up one morning,

and rolled out of bed.

I stepped front of the mirror,

squinting my eyes.

I had aged quite considerably,

to my great surprise.

I forgot where I'd been,

I dressed and drank water.

Got in my car,

driving farther and farther.

No matter how far,

I couldn't quite shake,

how very real it felt,

how very ornate.

I couldn't quite come back,

unhindered, unbothered,

from my minds merry playground,

where nothing much mattered.

To wake into this,

a world dulled by adult-ing,

my child-like self,

felt the sting so insulting.

I crept back to that place,

that time once forgot,

I slipped back to the groove,

I found out that spot.

Though this time I sat,

awake and wide-eyed,

watching my children,

play by my side.

I joined in their fun,

I let go of adult-ing,

I remembered myself,

in one fell swoop of the moment.

I remembered myself,

and then I did smile...

I chanted and danced,

carefree for a while.

No matter how far,

I had gone from Divine,

mirrors shone brightly,

to remind I'm just fine.

Worry and fretting,

age us quick if we let them,

and soon we forget,

our Divine connection.

To all things great and small,

to all matter that is,

to the oceans and trees,

and to our brothers and sis.

To those we don't know,

by name but in heart,

we are all one in all,

we are all from the start.

Just a seed,

a spark,

a great lively flourish,

of the infinite Universe,

of Great Intelligence.

No matter our origin,

class,

weight,

or size,

we are all on one Earth,

awake and alive.

So if you are sleeping,

remember the dream.

For you are still but a child,

adulting it seems...

inspirationalsurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Dannielle Nelson

I have no taboo subjects. Buckle up & prepare for the journey! From Steampunk, reality, mental health, poetry, & eclectic philosophy. Enjoy.

I have 2 Websites where other works can be read.

Plant People Heal

Read More Live Better

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.