Poets logo

The Middle

A poem composed on a long flight to England.

By Gabriel HuizengaPublished about a year ago β€’ Updated about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
9

Here I am, in the middle,

between clouds and streetlights;

stars and darkness, both

above and below.

Peering down,

it is hard to see stars

through all of that light.

Gazing up,

it is hard to see darkness

on such a beautiful night.

But both are there -

and I am here

in the middle.

Between clouds and streetlights,

waking and sleeping,

wonder and fear,

done and undone.

Between earth and sky,

going and coming,

back then and not yet,

known and unknown.

Here I am, in the middle,

between clouds and streetlights;

stars and darkness, both

behind and ahead.

inspirationalsad poetry
9

About the Creator

Gabriel Huizenga

Twas for love of words that I first joined this site:

Poetry, essays, and dear short stories too;

For to live one's best is to read, and to write!

So find me in words here, and I'll find you πŸ’™

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 19 days ago

    This feels so symbolic to life. Beautiful job!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Like a sort of stasis, out of time. I liked this. Hope there was no turbulence.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    it is hard to see darkness. on such a beautiful night. These lines drew me in, they led me to a different perspective. β€˜In the middle’ What a beautiful place to be. Subscribed

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    You’ve gained a new subscriber! :) I felt like I was right there with you, looking out the window.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Oh! I love this, I did that flight, wrote a poem after, yours is absolutely lovely, captures the feeling beautifully. Subscribed and hearted.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.