Poets logo

The Message is in the Rainbow Colours

Grey is black that's not too black.

By VICABOLSPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Message is in the Rainbow Colours
Photo by cubicroot XYZ on Unsplash

The lines were blurred from the very beginning, I swear. Typical of most things during my childhood.

Where I grew up, no one ever told me the difference between red and pink.

Because there was "none".

Hard to believe. No clear difference between yellow and orange.

Because there was "none", actually.

Even grey is black that is not too black.

Purple and Blue are called Blues altogether.

Any colour that is neither white nor black, must pair with red, yellow and blue.

It was a really blurred beginning.

I would not have known much about colours...

Except that examinations in primary and secondary schools days forced me to. I had to study lights and cameras.

Not until 2016, the only place I had ever heard of homosexuality or gay people in broad daylight, was in my religion's teachings.

And when I got to hear of them, they had rainbow colours as their symbol in their "Pride Month" celebration.

- the rainbow colours.

Then my childhood came calling.

"How many colours are on that flag?", I asked myself rhetorically.

Maybe two or three, according to my Village Community Standard.

Year after year, I began hearing more about LGBT. On Radio shows, movies. Just everywhere.

Day after day, I began learning more about "Acceptance", "Tolerance".

Somehow, liberation came.

Do they pay their taxes as Straight people do?

Yes, they do.

Check.

Do they have feelings as Straight people do?

Yes, they do.

Check.

Do they go to work as Straight people do?

Yes, they do.

Check.

Do they desire sex as Straight People do?

Yes, they do.

Check.

Do they fall in love as Straight people do?

Yes, they do.

Check.

Do they employ people, own businesses, or even own some of the apps I use on my smartphone?

Yes, they do.

Check.

Do they offer compassion and charity?

Yes, they do.

Check.

Do they have families like Straight People do?

Yes, they do.

Check.

What do Straight People do that they don't even do?

I could not find any.

Check!

Wait, do they suffer heartbreak, death, fall ill, lose their jobs, get persecuted as Straight People do?

Yes, they do.

Check.

Do they get parking tickets? or Speed tickets?

Oh yes, they do!

Check.

Then I realised that the "rainbow" is not "their" colour after all.

No!

It is quite more than that.

The rainbow represents The Message that we are ALL in the same boat.

The Message is in the Rainbow Colour.

Live and let's live.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

VICABOLS

In writing, I say what's on my mind better...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.