Poets logo

The Memory Tree

Come with me to the mushroom tree

By Karlie Steadman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I close my eyes,

and I see visions of butterflies,

and ladies on clothes pin heels,

auras of colors from the way I feel.

It sounds drug induced,

but it’s not.

It’s the world in which I live,

where time doesn’t exist,

and there’s no persistence or resistance.

It just is.

A collection of dreams and memories mixing together,

creating the perfect weather for me to rest under the red mushroom tree,

and wonder why I have to remember everything.

Every story I’m told stays within a fold of my mind,

to be visualized over and over until it merges with my own.

And when I’m alone,

is it my memory?

Or someone else’s.

Both a blessing and a curse,

it’s at its worst when people don’t remember as much as I do.

You won’t remember what I said,

but I’ll remember your whole dictionary of words that you used for one conversation,

the way you tilt your head in realization

that nothing gets past me.

I don’t mean to be.

I take the memory to my mushroom tree,

and let it run wild amongst my mind

like the rest of me.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Karlie Steadman

Hello friends! I’m Kar, and I’m 25 years old currently residing in Delaware. Welcome to the workings of my mind and healing of my inner child. Perhaps you can relate while I’m on my journey to self discovery✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.