Poets logo

The Memory of You

Perpetual Comfort

By Cindy CalderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2

It lies draped across the chair, effortless to retrieve

A sky blue in an otherwise neutral environment

Its softness, a result of repeated usage and washings,

Seems to reach out and stroke my cheek.

Each time I see it as I cross the room,

Warmth infuses me as memories invade my soul.

On rainy, lonely days, I pull it from its resting place

And with it lie across the bed, surrounding myself with its softness.

A lingering, sweet scent wraps me in a delicious state,

And a smile suffuses my face as memories encircle me.

Whispers and echoes of love hover, swirling all about;

They comfort me in waves of long abated intimacy.

My fingers gingerly caress its blue softness,

And tears fall across my cheeks as memories escape

To taunt me with reverberations of longing.

How long has it been since you were here?

Whenever I hold and caress this essence of you

Comfort is mine and you’re still beside me.

When I cannot muster a smile and life is arduous,

I wrap myself in the blue mellowness

And life immediately abounds with refreshed joy.

Oh, but peace and joy are my friends once again!

With resounding and overwhelming renewal

The world aligns itself and endurance emanates.

There is long standing comfort and reassurance

That flows from the softness of what was once yours

Despite that from this life, you have been absent far too long.

I shall always keep your sweater near me, within easy reach;

It is a profound reminder of a promise

Of a wondrous, unconditional love that fills eternity.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.