Poets logo

The Melding of Souls

A College Love Story

By Tom DoetschPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Melding of Souls
Photo by Nathan McBride on Unsplash

College freshmen are awkward at icebreakers.

I was no different.

I got paired with a girl.

Brown hair, blue eyes

Shorter than me, but she would stare you down

With unwavering might.

--

I lasted about thirty seconds

Before giving in.

Laughing so hard she snorted,

She patted me on the back and said,

Better luck next time sweetie.

--

I walked into pre-calc, and saw her

Slapping the seat next to her,

Giving me that same stare.

By the end of class,

We had pages of notes,

To each other.

--

I took a chance and got her number.

From then on,

My phone was just a bell,

Constantly ringing,

And if it wasn't,

The screen was lit up from a new text,

All day.

We were both night owls,

Meaning many midnight runs to

TacoBell or Coney Island.

--

Then Fall Break decided to show up.

Every time I picked up my phone,

My parents asked,

Is that your girlfriend?

My dad always mocked me in a mushy voice,

While my excited mom kept asking:

What's she like? What's her major? Where's she from? What do you two do together? Have you kissed?

In a blink, we were back.

--

I ran into her right outside our dorm

Moonlight shined through her cascading hair.

Hey, she said in a soft voice,

Dimples pointing to her reddening cheeks

Hey, I said, stepping forward and embracing her.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Tom Doetsch

I write about the human condition and the important things in life. I love dystopian fantasy & sci-fi so that’s what I write most. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.