Poets logo

The Meeting of the Minds

From a bystander's point of view

By Skylar CallahanPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
The Meeting of the Minds
Photo by Alistair MacRobert on Unsplash

“Show me the intelligent life in this realm,” she demanded

In a manner that resounded with my need to please.

I racked my brain for the answer and found none, to be candid.

Then, it hit me plain as day, it came with sudden ease,

I know exactly the intelligent life to show my starry-eyed visitor

With her gracious yet powerful demeanor,

So, to my home I rushed in haste, with in tow, the inquisitor.

As soon as I presented my answer, oh, you should have seen her!

Those moon-lit eyes grew to full silvery size,

As she gazed upon my proud presentation.

She nodded her head, satisfied, I’d surmise,

And studied with great contemplation.

The projections along her cheek bones bristled,

Her skin flushed milky-silver and her face fell slack.

Then, she let out a long, soft, melodic whistle,

And the intelligent life meowed back.

“Brilliantly manipulative, graceful, and stealthy.

A true mastermind of all the traits

We consider to be quite wealthy.”

“Are you the servant to this genius creature?”

She inquired curiously, and as I watched she somehow grew shorter.

“Indeed, I entertain her, house her, and feed her.”

“Then things are in just the right order.”

Before my eyes she transformed in quite a magnificent fashion

To match the exact size, color, and shape of my feline friend.

Taken aback, I gasped, and my face was surely ashen,

As the formerly-alien-turned-cat pounced through my window, never to be seen again.

humor
2

About the Creator

Skylar Callahan

Hoping I can bring a little joy, fun, and escape to my readers. The genres of my writing are vast, as I am still getting to know myself as a writer. Thank you for your support! Happy reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Cats are definitely the best! I loved that your alien turned into one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.