Poets logo

The Mask

The Mask

By LC WrightPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

He’s kind and sweet,

Intelligent, and quick on his feet.

He says we’re meant to be,

Always there to compliment me.

Sweet nothings whispered in my ear,

A masquerade, I should feel fear.

Just one chance, he said with a grin,

And that is where his masks begin.

Everyone loves him, he’s charming and stark,

But below the surface lurks something dark.

Unleashed every night,

He hides well in the light.

Fists suddenly going through walls,

Followed with apologies, flowers, and calls.

I was just drunk, he said with a scoff.

And a chunk of his mask fell off.

Typhoons of emotion moving way to fast,

My freedom suddenly in the past.

My friendships starting to falter,

I was drowning staying at his alter.

Every decision met with a second guess,

Now, to change the slutty way I dress.

You look like a whore, he said with a scoff.

And a chunk of his mask fell off.

Springtime finally came around,

Sun and surf; good times abound.

The waves are strong,

He can’t hang on long.

Walking home, he screamed all the way,

It’s my fault he fell, now I have to pay.

You’re nothing but trash, he said with a scoff.

And a chunk of his mask fell off.

It’s my fault he strayed,

I made him think he’d get played.

I’m not loving enough,

The way I talk is too gruff.

I need to be set straight,

I must never debate.

You're not woman enough, he said with a scoff.

And a chunk of his mask fell off.

He made it clear,

You’ll have no career.

I want a wife,

Not a partner in life.

Graduation grew closer,

I thought I could get closure.

You're never leaving me, he said with a scoff

And a chunk of his mask fell off.

Homeward bound,

I figured space could be found.

Still, the arguments ensued,

He ruined every happy mood.

Tensions rise higher,

Every second spent together feels like fire.

You'll never be loved, he said with a scoff.

And a chunk of his mask fell off.

We take a trip to Tennessee,

It’s a fresh start, I’ll see.

I say I’m leaving, he’s no longer scary

Nothing is good and we can’t be merry.

Down the steps I was thrown,

Cuts and bruises were all shown.

You belong to me he spat with a frown,

And his mask came crumbling all the way down.

I drive away, knowing it’s over

Hatred in his eyes confirming it moreover.

I cut all contact he goes insane,

My parents are calling the cops in vain.

Time has passed it’s over now

It won’t happen again; I’ve taken a vow.

Rid of all the words he said to me,

The masks came off, I’m finally free.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

LC Wright

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.