Poets logo

The Mannequin Man

By Gabbie SpeirsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
The Mannequin Man
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

I know Old Lady Winters' home is empty when she's out, but when I walk home from work late at night I swear I see somebody in the upstairs window alone.

I think it's a guy. It could be her son, or grandson. If she has either one.

Sometimes I see a shadow, sometimes a man. Sometimes it feels like a shadow of a man.

Sometimes when I'm walking, out of the corner of my eye, I see the shadow-man holding a sign.

“Help me” said the sign. I blinked and saw “Please”, what a quick decline.

I know you think I'm crazy, but if you were here, you'd be seeing the same. If only I knew his name.

I walked closer to Old Lady Winters' home and saw the shadow-man had moved windows.

The closer I got, the more the shadow-man looked familiar. Or similar to someone, something...

“Please help me Gabbie” was the next thing I saw after I blinked and I swear blind that the shadow-man winked.

You might think I'm crazy, it might all be hazy.

The closer I got, the more I could see. The shadow-man wasn't winking, or blinking.

Was this even a man at all?

What had Old Lady Winters done to this pleading Paul?

As I stepped onto the porch, that's where the light started to scorch.

You see, the shadow-man? He was really the mannequin man.

For Fun
1

About the Creator

Gabbie Speirs

I write fantastical short stories that keep you coming back for more

Engish writer, world lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Hahahahahaha looks like someone either needs glasses or is losing their mind! Lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.