Poets logo

The Lying Mind

Struggles With Anxiety

By Jennifer LoreePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Johannes Plenio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/boat-out-at-sea-at-dusk-2128161/

I stall yet again.

Nervous tension, restrained breath.

Will I ever break free of these repeating patterns?

A cycle of events that ever toss me to and fro, like a cyclone of emotion that threatens to erode the delicately construed image of myself, still under construction.

Will I ever be good enough, strong enough, soft enough.

To be seen, heard and appreciated as I am, not to be tossed aside or bitten down by cruel words.

Is this storm even real or is it yet again, a manifestation of past haunts and my own imagination?

Why does my mind deem to inflict such cruelties upon myself, picking up what others left behind?

Let those lies lie, down there, in the gutter to be washed away with the next rain.

Renewed as the forest is with the morning dew.

Let me be rebuilt of stronger things, not immovable, but flexible enough not break the next time the wind kicks up again.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Loree

Canadian digital artist, Certified Nutritional Counselor (CNC), Nature Lover

"To air out ones thoughts; words drifting on a light breeze; wind also breaks trees." (Haiku)

Instagram: @jennifer.loree

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.