Poets logo

The Lurking Creature

A Short Poem of Suspense and Surprise

By Story TellerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

In the darkness of the night,

A package sits, a curious sight.

Wrapped in brown paper, tied with string,

Its contents unknown, what could it bring?

With trembling hands, I untie the knot,

And slowly open up the slot.

A note inside, it reads with care,

"Open with caution, if you dare."

My heart begins to race and pound,

As I slowly lift the lid and look around.

A flash of light, a sudden jolt,

And I find myself in an unknown vault.

The walls are cold, the air is stale,

And I realize I'm trapped, beyond the pale.

But then a glimmer catches my eye,

A key hidden, waiting nearby.

I grab the key and quickly run,

Unlock the door, and see the sun.

The package was a trap, it seems,

But I escaped with my wildest dreams.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Story Teller

As a "Story Teller," I'm passionate about crafting compelling narratives that entertain, educate, and inspire. My stories connect people, foster empathy, and make us feel more human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.