Poets logo

The Lover's Ghost

A devoted and most ardent host.

By Leeza CooperPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Photograph: Leeza as; Mathilda the ghost. Vintage handmade lace wedding dress by 'Fabulous Finds'.. bulous Finds. bulous Finds

Dearest Matilda,

It seems like only yesterday

You sat beside me where I lay

Your song was soft, my book away

You stilled my laughter, chilled my play;

The scent you wore bedecked my face

Your kiss, a fleeting touch of lace

Then darkness seeped into my room

Dejected and a forlorn gloom

You lifted up your hands so high

I tried to speak and ask you why...

Your wings had carried you to me

But who are you, angelic, free?

Your mouth so sweet... a honey bee?

Flitting your love from tree to tree

Yet tortured hands, so deathly pale

A victim of Demons wail

I see you weaving too and fro

On the cusp of 'stay' or 'go'

I loved you once, oh! This I know

As pure and white as winter's snow

Our spirits bond, our love is deep

Even God had cause to weep

I touch your cheek, a frozen face

My love, Mathilda, wrapped in lace

I dream of you throughout the night

I try to grasp and hold you tight

But morning comes and you take flight

I mourn a thousand years, each night.

My heart a drumbeat to your tune

I watch and see you leave my room

I love you, dearest darling ghost

Please come again, for me to host.

Forever yours,

Lawrence Corby xx

love poems

About the Creator

Leeza Cooper

Leeza Cooper, a devotee, artiste, creator of published literature & poetry; Studied Degree CU, founder/president of Wheels & Dolls SMC; raising funds for DV, lover of travel, nostalgia & anything vintage.

Ms Australia International 2023.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Leeza CooperWritten by Leeza Cooper

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.