Poets logo

The Love That Lasts the Longest Is the Love That Is Not Returned

A Poem About Love

By Ann HerroldPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Love That Lasts the Longest Is the Love That Is Not Returned
Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

My dear you do not need to get me dizzy with gifts,

I went to the store to return your heart shaped box of chocolates,

When I looked inside it was still beating,

99 red balloons falling to the sky,

Look what love brought us,

When you said those deadly sickening words “I love you”

For the love of God!

St. Peter!

Michael Friedman!

Joan of Arc!

Paris and Helen,

See how well those turned out,

You do not need to give,

But I

I sang and danced for you,

Juggled,

Ran naked in the rain,

I twirled in the moonlight,

For you,

Years passed yet you still did nothing for me,

I was spinning,

Oh, spinning ever so fast,

Till I lost my head,

It cracked open,

And in its place a flower grew,

Should have known when you stuck your pine needles in me,

With their lovely sent,

Oh how I pined away for you,

Notes faded into the rain,

I ran around with my head cut off,

Like a chicken,

I thought it would never return,

And here I was silently swaying for you,

See how far it got me,

How far it gets anyone,

Darling,

You do not need to give,

You already have my love,

But for you,

I see you on every page,

Every stroke of a pen,

Every shadow,

Haunting me with pleasant turned vulgar memories,

When you whispered “I love you”

And I said-“I know”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ann Herrold

A freelance writer that shares her experience with PTSD, trauma, depression, life, and love. Part of the LGBTQIA+ community, master procrastinator, bog goblin and expert pie eater.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.