Poets logo

The Love Stands Still

What Is Inside Your Heart?

By Leona ValentinePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2022
48

It feels like I have known you for a long time.

It feels like we knew each other from the past.

It feels like you are meant to be in my life.

I hope this wonderful feeling lasts.

I have been searching for a man like you…

Until I found a friend with a heart of gold.

You became a teacher with true wisdom.

You are a man who treats a woman like a rose.

You are the intimate that I want to keep in my life.

You are the kind of leader that I want to follow.

You are the true warrior who inspires me.

Every time I am with you, I always glow.

My heart grows each day goes by.

It is big enough to keep you inside.

I am truly thankful that you and I met.

I want to sit by you on this unexpected train ride.

Many things are attracting me to you -

Like the goodness that you possess.

Not money. Not assets. Not fame.

This connection makes me feel so blessed.

Maybe loving you is completely wrong -

But my heart beats for you endlessly.

Maybe I am right for giving my heart to you.

Being with you makes me feel free.

What is inside your heart?

Is it closed from painful memories?

I know you want to protect it.

I know you want to block bad energies.

Allow me to step inside your heart.

I promise I will be supremely gentle.

I assure you that I will treat it as a home.

I vow to be spiritual like I am in a temple.

I will treat your heart like it is a part of me.

I want to make you feel very special.

I will give you the love that you truly deserve.

The love that I speak of is unconditional.

This passion that I have for you is getting stronger.

The adoration is kind, joyful, gallant, and clean.

Whether you are a dirty peasant or a noble prince,

I hope that I will eventually become your Queen.

You definitely deserve to be treated like a King.

You are magnificent from the start.

You have already won my utter respect.

Maybe one day, I will win your heart.

I wonder if you are my soulmate or twin flame.

Did angels put us together to love or to learn?

Are we meant to meet in this lifetime?

Did you enter my life, so I could get burned?

The thought of separating from you is bitter.

If that happens, I have no choice but to accept.

The compassion for you will be forever.

The memories of us will always be kept.

If you decide to move on to find another,

Choose the one who often smiles around you.

Choose the one who always gives you gifts.

Choose the one with kind words that are true.

Choose the one with the same interests as yours.

Choose the one who always says, “good morning.”

Choose the one with the messages that are always kind.

Choose the one who is usually obliging.

Choose the one who tries to make you laugh.

Choose the one who thinks you are the best.

Choose the one who controls her temper –

Especially if you ever make her depressed.

Choose the one who believes in you.

Choose the one who likes to hear you speak.

Choose the one with an open mind.

Choose the one who knows that you are unique.

Choose the one who treats you like you matter.

Choose the one who loves you endlessly.

If you ever decide to choose another,

Make sure that she is just like me.

love poems
48

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.