Poets logo

The love of a mother

How much she cares

By Kierra MaronPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

When me and my brother never go along, my mother would always say "never wrestle with a pig."

She never meant that my siblings and me were pigs.

It meant that, a pig likes to get muddy.

And their very slippery.

If you wrestled with one, you would fall in the mud and get muddy.

And that's what they want.

They want a reaction.

This saying helped us through many situations.

Although we never used it on each other.

We always used it on others.

She told my brother whenever we fought.

And he crossed a line.

She said, "what makes a canyon? Little drops of rain that always fall in the same place. It's like a heart. Little words always hitting the same spot causes a hole. And it can never be refilled."

We toke this into consideration.

And we used it often.

She stuck up for us and we are strong.

I hide my fears and feelings sometimes.

And I feel like that's what I should do.

But then she reminds me.

"How does a blister form? It piles up until it pops. So much blood pours out of it. It's like feelings. If you hold it in then it will pile up. Until all your hurt and tears are in it. And you can't take it anymore that you explode."

Then I burst into tears.

And I feel much better.

She told me never to put my hands in the window when it's going up because it will hurt.

But I had to try.

It hurt a lot just like she said.

I never toke what she said seriously.

And that's why I get in trouble a lot.

I learned my lessons.

I have her humor.

Some people might think our humor is rude, mean, cruel and evil and wicked.

But to us it's normal.

Music helps us with trouble.

Most songs I like she likes.

We know what guys are good and what guys are not.

I know what she means.

She is my role model.

I look only up to her.

She drives us to dads.

She takes us back.

She knows what's wrong and what's right.

She takes care of all five of us by herself.

She tells us to be ourselves.

She says who cares what anyone thinks.

As long you like it, who cares.

She thinks that even though I'm small I'm perfect.

She believes in God and so do I.

I do everything she does.

People can't tell the difference between us.

We look and sound the same.

She showed us the beauty of Snap Dragons.

How their mouths open and closed.

She works Tuesdays and Mondays.

Sometimes Saturdays and Sundays.

She works and takes care of us.

We don't always got along.

And we often fight.

But we know we still love each other.

In the past she kept us safe.

She made sure no harm came our way.

Sometimes we would get scared but that never stopped us from hearing more.

We are stubborn and that's what scared her.

We were nosy and liked to eavesdrop.

We made all kinds of trouble.

She told me when I was scared.

Or feeling like I wasn't good enough.

That I was a tough cookie.

Usually we would joke about that.

Like, but you can eat cookies.

Their not tough.

Except for the ones I made with too much baking soda.

From then on we would say how bad of a cook I 'am.

We know it partially wasn't my fault.

Because the recipe had food on it, I couldn't see.

My mom is the best!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kierra Maron

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.