Poets logo

The Look

We all read it in stories, I just didn't expect the impact of emotions that came with feeling it first hand.

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to read about the look.

Eyes glimmering, love overflowing,

adoration at its peak…

but it was fiction. Words.

Such intensity did not exist

in this reality that was bitter,

cold and disconnected. Passion

muddled by lies, betrayal, secrets.

Little did I know, my belief

would be proven wrong

by none other than myself.

With the help of you that is.

Late night talks, dumb texts,

goofy grins, little giggles.

Things so easy to ignore

with a screen as a buffer,

muffling a typhoon to simply

an inconvenient rain in my heart.

But then we met… a whim

on my part to say the least.

Experiencing you first hand

was different than moments

immortalized in the digital world.

To have you at arms lengths,

Hearing your voice within

the same background noise,

my eyes trailing after your

every movement as if

I would never see you again.

Drinking in every moment,

Every stupid joke, warm smile,

and excited rambling

all of it with my very own

silly upward turn of my lips.

Realization of my actions came later

for I know not of my own expressions.

Brought to attention by a friend

who knew that this story of ours

wasn’t a happy ending but a tragedy

of my own creation. Hesitation.

Not wanting to shatter the tomorrow

I’ve been dreaming of, waiting for us

at the startline I fabricated.

The look also brought reality.

Something unavoidable settling in

that I don’t want to admit.

My feelings were getting stronger,

harder to hide and too prevalent

to ignore any longer.

While you were my moon, I

was merely a star lost

in your night sky.

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.