Poets logo

The Long Trek (Amtgard)

By Michael Blanco

By Michael BlancoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

The way was harsh and cold; No mercy

My men long dead from thirst and scurvy

And I alone then took the journey

Weak from hunger and days being thirsty

I made my way past desolation

Past lands long cursed by incantations

Past ancient ruins of fallen nations

And ghosts and figures in strange formations

With watching eyes of pain and hate

Through crooked paths that once were straight

Onward past the darkest places

Where creatures dwell that have no faces

And those that do might be a killer

And I their victim, or worse their dinner,

Their faces stern and hard and bitter

Some did speak but just a whisper

And so I traveled far through winter

Until all was gone except my shiver

Until at last I reached North River

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.