Poets logo

The Little Sparrow

S. Janeshewski

By SJPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
To watch a lazy world go by.

When will summer come? I’ve waited so long.

Trudged through the mud, the snow

The whispers of blue-jays and

Cackles of crows

That echo through the morning breeze.

Don’t go, little bird,

Must you leave so soon?

I must, I reply.

It’s my duty, my privilege

My honour.

The clouds part as I fly by,

All the way to where they live.

In their smoky cities, towering walls,

Walls they build around themselves

To slam the door on others

Protect what is theirs

What they think they need,

Think they want.

From my perch, I gaze down at the smog

Humans don’t know what they want.

But give them some credit, they fight for their rights

They battle and argue, swarming like bees

Clawing history apart

Until they themselves, crumble

I ache for them, for they never rise

A deer at the mercy of the lioness.

Tiny leaves shudder as I flit from the tree

Dive into the thickets of the woods.

Burying in leaves, soft against my feathers

Away from the horrors of the human world.

It's simply

Too much.

I nestle in the moss, head under my wing

Weep for my weakness

For I have failed.

You returned, little sparrow,

From the helm of human hardship.

I can’t go back, I cry

They are too horrible.

The forest knows how hard it is.

How hard it must be to be human.

To have those who befriend you betray you,

Witness the fall of entire nations

Where no one is heard

And no one is safe.

I wish I could keep you here forever,

But you must help, little bird.

No matter how capable they claim to be,

They continue to struggle,

Come back to the woods

Like baby birds who need us.

My feathers grow warm, bathed in sun

A warm and loving light.

You are courageous, little one

And though you are scared,

You have a kind heart

And noble honour,

So you must promise me.

To share your good with those who

Have not found it.

I rise from the nest, spreading my wings

I promise.

social commentary

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SWritten by SJ

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.