Poets logo

The Lighthouse In My Life

You’ve Always Been A Beacon

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
The Lighthouse In My Life
Photo by Ian Chen on Unsplash

Tall, strong, steady, and true

Unwaveringly stable,

That’s how I’d describe you.

In my darkest moments, you’ve been my light.

When I needed guidance, you understood my plight.

When the storms got too rough and I sought a reprieve

You were my shelter, my guiding light.

When I was lost, you kept me safe in the night.

Driving away all the monsters that I’ve had to fight.

It may sound strange, this comparison of mine,

Yet, when I think of lighthouses

I think of how you’ve always been mine.

No matter how rocky, you’d never let me crash.

Others may have been flighty. They disappeared in a dash.

Yet if things got too dark, you were there in a flash.

So, you see, you have been my beacon all throughout my life.

You were the one still standing behind me, helping me through all the strife.

It has been said that no man is an island.

Well, I disagree.

You are just that, an isle,

A safe haven,

A portal of wisdom, an unlocking key.

When I lost sight of my path, you illuminated it so clearly.

When I lost faith in myself, you believed in me so sincerely.

For all of these reasons and more, I love you oh so dearly.

. . .

This piece is dedicated to my dad.

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

This poem was originally published on Medium.

love poemsperformance poetry
3

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Awesome love poem!!! Love this line, "When I lost sight of my path, you illuminated it so clearly." That is love!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Nice piece♥️💯✌️

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Love in a lighthouse! Great poem! ❤️❤️♥️💚💛💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.