Poets logo

THE LIGHT OF HOPE

INSPIRATIONAL

By DEBASISH GANGULYPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2

I was in a dark room,

Darkness, all around trying to engulf me,

Beckoning me to forsake hope,

The hope of my survival, my existence.

And embrace the darkness

Leaving my loved ones, grieving behind

But I found myself still alive,

Still hand in hand with my life

Full of defeat, fear and agony.

Questioning its own existence,

When being again and again oppressed.

I was afraid to raise my hand for support

Afraid of illusive darkness lying ahead.

The darkness trying its best to fill my body

But the source of my hope kept me awake

Within the silence of darkness

And the everlasting frost of coldness within.

I could hear my breathing

And the little heart quite in rhythm

Explaining to me, there is life

There is hope, the life is hope.

Suddenly I felt the surrounding

Filling with warmth, dwindling the coldness within.

I looked up and saw the angelic light

Filtering through the small slit into the darkness.

My life saw the hope growing

With the darkness diminishing.

I stood up gathering my strength

Supported by hope.

Approaching the angelic light, I looked behind

And saw my defeat, fear and agony

Confined to where I sat.

It was difficult to lose them but feasible.

So, I moved forward two steps at a time

And looked through the slit

Though dazzled by the filtering light

Saw my unfulfilled dreams waiting for me.

Inspiring me to grab the dreams

Each ray of light beckoning me

And inspiring me, to have self-faith

As every dream will come true

If you hope and believe.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani10 months ago

    Chase those dreams! Lovely writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.