Poets logo

The Lifetimes Between Us

A Prison Cell or a Starry Sky

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2022
37

The party is boring

But I’m smiling like

The sun is shining on me

Because I want you

To think that it is

And when they ask me

About romance and butterflies

I tell them about the boy

From the beach who

Texts me and teases me

Because I don’t want

To mention you and

The years I spent

Loving you

Breaking for you

You’re over there and

I’m all too aware that

Too many lifetimes

Stand between us and

The endgame will

Never be us because

Even though you

Look at her like she’s

More of a prison cell

Than a starry sky

I keep thinking about how

She gets to say you’re hers

And I don’t get to call you

Mine

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem please check out more like it:

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
37

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Broken once more.

  • Holy horse2 years ago

    I liked the imagery - very nicely done!

  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    Absolutely beautiful:)

  • Luo re Luo2 years ago

    I liked the imagery - very nicely done!

  • keenan eliezer2 years ago

    Beautiful

  • Vranes Samaha2 years ago

    Well written

  • Kobstyiy Nulle2 years ago

    Beautiful

  • Mhairi Campbell 2 years ago

    Beautiful

  • Doyscher Kerley2 years ago

    I love your poetry and I want to give you credit for it.

  • So succinct, yet so deep!

  • Diane Siefkes2 years ago

    I liked the imagery - very nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.