Poets logo

The Leaves

Blankets for Home Lost

By Taylor Abigail RicePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Leaves
Photo by Mohammed Ajwad on Unsplash

One leaf is out of place

On the trail.

I know but how.

Nothing ordinary has ever compelled me before.

I turn from my walking and move towards

What I’ve never seen before.

My body is old. It does not guide me.

My eyes turn white as their color

Recedes until a new eye is ready

To be made alive.

How did I see the leaf.

And know

It was something worth pursuing.

I’m old now.

My soul moves me.

The feeling of something new, no less fear-filled,

But familiar nonetheless,

Reminds me how to be young.

This path I walk

Each day

Since the sickness took my beloved of 55 years away

Never changes

Unless it wants to show me another way.

To grieve

To walk

To live

To talk

To receive comfort from the sound of faithful fall beneath my falling feet

Until I fall and rest beneath them.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Taylor Abigail Rice

poet // artist // actress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.